Monday, February 18, 2008

Love Languages

I recently finished reading 'The Five Love Languages' by Gary Chapman. I unwrapped the book & must have looked a little perplexed... my sister, who is working on her Masters Degree & read the book for a marriage counseling course, quickly added, "It's not one of those books. Just read it." She was right... it was a very interesting read... a look into how we classify & interpret love. In a nutshell, the author discusses how different people express/receive love in different 'languages'. He says that by learning the primary love languages of those you care about, you are able to better "fill their love tank." They will gain a greater sense of sense of security, significance & self-worth... all things that psychologists name as basic human needs.

He names 5 specific 'love languages':

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch
After reading the book & some careful self-reflection, Tim & I have found that we're actually quite similar in our love languages...we're both primarily Quality Timers with Acts of Service following a close second. You can take a quick quiz to discover your primary love language here.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails